Boys U14 Championship

The National Finals held on 13 May at Lee Valley Hockey and Tennis Centre has concluded.

In Pool A Winchester started well scoring 5 goals without reply against Canterbury, while Leicester recorded a 3-1 win against Wakefield. In Pool B defending champions Cheltenham started with a 2-1 victory over Harrogate, and last year’s losing finalists Surbiton also started with a win 2-0 against Cambridge City.

The second round of matches saw Leicester defeat Winchester 2-0 while Wakefield and Canterbury drew 2-2. Pool B saw both Cheltenham and Surbiton record victories over Cambridge city and Harrogate respectively, to set up a winner takes all final match.

The final pool games saw Canterbury beat Leicester 3-1 while Winchester returned to winning ways beating Wakefield 4-0 to progress to the final on goal difference. Surbiton came out top in the battle to win Pool B defeating Cheltenham 2-0, while Cambridge and Harrogate played out a 2-2 draw.

In the play off matches Cambridge overcame Wakefield 3-1 to take 7th place; the 5th/6th game was a high scoring affair with Canterbury running out 6 - 2 winners against Harrogate. Leicester survived a late rally from Cheltenham to take third place 2-1, and there is a new name on the trophy as our congratulations go to Winchester who defeated Surbiton 2-0 in the final.

If you require further information, please email

Tier 1 - Local Leagues

Teams have been split into leagues based on location. Each of the four regions (North, Midlands, East, West) have between 3-4 leagues with 4-6 teams in each league depending on the amount of teams in an area.

The top two teams from each league will qualify for Tier 2, which will be played on Sunday 26th March. Click on the relevant league below to see fixtures, results and standings from that league.

North Cluster

League 1 - Alderley Edge, Bowdon, Chester, Leek, Repton
League 2 - Brooklands MU, Deeside Ramblers, Neston SW, Oxton, Preston
League 3 - Beeston, Belper, Huddersfield Dragons. Lindum, West Bridgford

Midlands Cluster

League 1 - Amersham & Chalfont, Marlow, Reading, South Berkshire, Wycombe
League 2 - Cheltenham, Hampton-in-Arden, Oxford, Oxford Hawks, Rugny & EW, Stourport
League 3 - City of Peterborough, Leicester, Lichfield. Loughborough Town, Spalding, Sutton Coldfield

East Cluster

League 1 - Canterbury, Marden Russets, Oxted, Sevenoaks, Tunbridge Wells
League 2 - Bury St Edmunds, Harleston Magpies, Ipswich ES, Norwich City, Sudbury
League 3 - Bishop's Stortford, Blueharts, Braintree, Cambridge City, Saffron Walden
League 4 - Bromley & Beckenham, Crostyx, Old Loughtonians, Southgate

West Cluster

League 1 - City of Bath, Clifton Robinsons, Isca, Plymouth Marjon, Taunton Vale. Team Bath Buccaneers
League 2 - Bournemouth, Fareham, Havant, Trojans, Winchester
League 3 - Guildford, Haslemere, Horsham, Woking
League 4 - Old Georgians, Sunbury & Walton Hawks, Surbiton, Teddington, Wimbledon

Tier 2  - Regional Leagues 

Click on the relevant pool name to see fixture details, results and tables from that pool.

North Section Regional Cluster

Hosts - Harrogate (Pool A), Brooklands MU (Pool B)

North Pool A - Harrogate, Beeston, Alderley Edge, Deeside Ramblers
North Pool B- Bowdon, Wakefield, Belper, Brooklands MU. 

Midlands Section Regional Cluster

Hosts - Cheltenham (Pool A), Leicester Men (Pool B). 

Midlands Pool A - Sutton Coldfield, South Berkshire, Cheltenham, Oxford Hawks
Midlands Pool B - Leicester Men, Stourport, Reading, Spalding

East Section Regional Cluster

Hosts - Saffron Walden (Pool A), Harleston Magpies (Pool B). 

East Pool A - Old Loughtonians, Canterbury, Saffron Walden, Norwich City,
East Pool B - Cambridge City, Sevenoaks, Harleston Magpies, Southgate

West Section Regional Cluster

Hosts - Plymouth Marjon (Pool A), Winchester (Pool B).

West Pool A - Plymouth Marjon, Surbiton, Fareham, Haslemere
West Pool B - Team Bath, Winchester, Guildford, Sunbury and Walton Hawks 

Useful Documents

U14/U16 Championships Regulations

Result Report Form

Site by nemisys