Olympians need your help!

The BBC's famous Sports Personality of the Year event takes place on Sunday 19 December. 

BBC Sports Personality of the Year Award (SPOTY)England Hockey is supporting the BOA by encouraging the hockey family to rally the Olympic Movement in the UK and VOTE for the Olympians and Olympic hopeful who have made the shortlist for the BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2010 award. 

Four athletes from Olympic sports have been nominated to the ten-strong shortlist this year: 
  • Amy Williams (skeleton), 
  • Jessica Ennis (athletics), 
  • Tom Daley (diving) and 
  • Mark Cavendish (cycling).
The vote takes place during the show itself and is decided by the public alone. It would be superb if the great hockey community showed its support of other Olympians by voting for other Olympians on Sunday. (Ts&Cs at bottom of page)

Voting opens from 7pm on BBC 1. Why not Tweet, post encouragement on your Facebook page, include refs in your blogs and on your websites. 

Twitter suggestion
Vote 4 an Olympic athlete 4 Sports Personality of the Year on Sunday from 7pm BBC 1: Tom Daley, Jessica Ennis, Amy Williams, Mark Cavendish!

Help the BOA find missing Olympians

British Olympic Association LogoIn a recent edition of 'The Olympian', Chris Baillieu, chairman of The Olympians has expressed his concern that the BOA is missing quite a few contact details of those who competed at an Olympics.

Please could you help us to help Christine Bower, the BOA staff liaison officer, complete her database of all past Olympians so that no one misses out on any celebrations planned. Her contact details are christine.bower@boa.org.uk
Here is the list Performance Director David Faulkner received of those past hockey Olympians for whom we have no details.
Sadly it will be possible that a number may no longer be alive.
Athlete Name Olympic Games
Sheikh Mahmood Ahmad 1972 Munich
David Douglas Rcher 1956 Melbourne
Patrick Austen 1960 Rome
Paul Bolland 1992 Barcelona
Derek Malcolmn Day 1952 Helsinki
Michael Owen Harry Doughty 1956 Melbourne
Graham Evans 1972 Munich
Peter Ewles 1972 Munich
John French 1972 Munich
John A Hindle 1960 Rome, 1964 Tokyo
John Land 1964 Tokyo
Peter Marsh 1972 Munich
Stuart David Mayes 1960 Rome
James Stewart Morris 1964 Tokyo
John Neill 1960 Rome, 1964 Tokyo, 1968 Mexico
Richard Oliver 1968 Mexico, 1972 Munich
Christopher John D Saunders-Griffiths 1960 Rome, 1964 Tokyo
John Anthony Strover 1956 Melbourne
Paul Svehlik 1972 Munich
Ian David Taylor 1960 Rome
John Taylor 1952 Helsinki
Stephen Theobald 1952 Helsinki
David Wilman 1964 Tokyo, 1968 Mexico
Ninnian Saldanha 1972 Munich

SPOTY voting terms and conditions
1.- Voting for the main award will be from a shortlist of 10 contenders presented during the live show on BBC One on Sunday 19 December 2010 and voting will only be available by phone - the number to call for each contender will be revealed on the programme after 1900 GMT. There is no voting via the BBC Sport website, email, red button or by text. 
2.- Each phone vote costs 15p from a BT landline. Calls from other networks may vary. Calls from mobiles will be considerably higher.