Women's Hockey League

Surbiton 2019 IWHL Champions

Welcome to the dedicated pages for the Women's Hockey League.

There are 60 clubs in the league which features a Premier Division of 10 teams. For 2019/2020 a new Division One North/South structure has been added above the existing three regional Conferences – North, West and East. All of these leagues also feature 10 teams.

 Premier Division
Bowdon Hightown
Clifton Robinsons
East Grinstead
Hampstead & Westminster
Loughborough University
University of Birmingham

 Division One North  Division One South
Belper Canterbury
Ben Rhydding Cambridge City
Brooklands Poynton Harleston Magpies
Gloucester City Isca & University of Exeter
Leeds Reading
Leicester Sevenoaks
Olton & West Warwicks Slough
Stourport St Albans
Swansea Trojans
University of Durham Wimbledon

 Conference East  Conference North                  Conference West
Barnes Alderley Edge Basingstoke
Bedford Beeston 2s Cheltenham
Bromley & Beckenham Cannock Clifton Robinsons 2s
Broxbourne Doncaster Exe
Canterbury 2s Fylde Oxford Hawks
Chelmsford Pendle Forest Oxford University
Horsham Sutton Coldfield Surbiton 2s
Ipswich Timperley Team Bath Buccaneers
Southgate University of Nottingham University of Birmingham 2s
Wimbledone 2s Wakefield University of Bristol

Click here to see a visual representation of each division on a map.

The teams play each other home and away to give an 18 week season that is played in two periods: September-December and February-April. At the end of the season there are a series of play-offs that decide who is promoted, relegated and crowned league champions.

Below the Women's Hockey League there are five regional leagues run by regional associations. The winners of these leagues are promoted to the  Women's Hockey League for the following season.

The Women's Hockey League newsletter is produced each week as the season progresses so make sure you sign up here to receive all the latest news and results.