Men's Hockey League

Information about the Men's Hockey League


Due to the ongoing issues with GMS, we are unable to provide a feed with fixtures, results and tables on this website. We are working hard to implement this but in the meantime, you can view fixtures and results on a temporary website here.

If you would like to read what has happened this season so far, the reports are available below:

League structure

The structure of the league has evolved in recent years to include seven divisions in a three-level pyramid structure:

  • Premier Division
  • Division One North & Division One South
  • Conference North, Conference East, Conference West, Conference Midlands

After the curtailment of the 2020/21 season due to Covid-19, there is a revised structure in place for 2021/22 in line with the England Hockey governance review.

Below the Men's England Hockey League, there are now eight Area Leagues run by the new Areas. The winners of these leagues will be promoted to the Men's Conferences for the following season.

Traditionally teams play each other home and away to give an 18 week season that is played in two periods: September-December and February-April. This season the Premier Division is made up of 11 teams. Teams will play each other once before Christmas and then will split after into two new groups, the first compromising the top six teams and the second being the lower five teams. Each team will then play all the others in their new group twice.