Vitality Women’s Hockey League

Information about the six divisions of the Vitality Women’s Hockey League

Swansea V Buckingham - Vitality Women’s Hockey League

The structure of the league has evolved in recent years to have six Divisions each of 10 teams in a three-level pyramid structure

  • Premier Division 
  • Division One North & Division One South 
  • Conference North, Conference East, Conference West. 

Due to the curtailment of the 2019/20 season due to Covid-19, there is a revised structure in place for 2020/21.

Traditionally teams play each other home and away to give an 18 week season that is played in two periods: September-December and February-April. At the end of the season there are a series of play-offs that decide who is promoted, relegated and crowned league champions.  

Below the Women's England Hockey League there are currently five Regional Leagues run by regional associations. The winners of these leagues have been promoted to the Women's England Hockey League for the following season. 

The league is currently suspended due to Covid-19. For the 2021-22 season an additional Conference will be added in line with the AGM Resolution passed in October 2020.