Alderley Edge receives European recognition

Jess, Jasper, the AEHC squash mascot, Harvey the Rabbit and Eddie the Edgehog at Alderley Edge HC Grow Your Own Club Day

England Hockey is delighted to announce that following the meeting of the European Hockey Federation last month, Alderley Edge HC (AEHC) were awarded the runner up place in the Club of the Year 2011 competition.

Half of the 10 finalists were English clubs, AEHC, Old Silhillians, Beeston, Surbiton and Wakefield with AEHC coming runners up to German club TSG Heilbronn.

AEHC are EHB's Harvester Club of the Season and recently completed a seven year project in conjunction with The Ryleys School, which has seen a new artificial pitch built to be shared between Alderley Edge and the school. The club run a very sucessful Back to Hockey programme aimed at getting women back into the sport after a break, they also recently began to host Rush Hockey sessions.
The work AEHC does with juniors is to be highly commended, and to support all of the activities they run, the club works hard to develop workforce including coaches, managers, umpires and an array of volunteers.

Alex Teasdale, National Manager Clubs and Facilities said

"I can't tell you how pleased I am for AEHC. I saw them celebrate winning the Harvester Club of the Season last July and saw how much it meant to them. I was then lucky enough to accompany Harvester to the opening of the AEHC pitch in October and saw first hand what a friendly, vibrant club we had as winners. For them to be recognised on the European stage is very well deserved. I know how hard many of the club members have worked over the past 10 years to get to this point, and I know it hasnt been an easy process. We are incredibly proud of them, and of all the five English club nominees.

To have such a strong group represented is testament to the hard work and dedication of many volunteers within these clubs, many of them I know personally and I would like to thank them for all they give to hockey.  The England Hockey awards for the 11/12 season are now open and I would hope to see a nomination from all of the clubs represented in Europe."

England Hockey would like to pass on their congratulations and thanks to AEHC for their European recognition and their committment to hockey.

Follow AEHC on twitter @alderleyedgehc

England Hockey Awards Lunch is the perfect occasion to recognise the dedication, hard work and achievements of our Hockey Makers and Clubs during the 2011-12 season. Now in its third year, this is an event not to be missed.

England Hockey Awards Lunch 2011 - Ashley Jackson and Helen Richardson

The England Hockey Award categories are as follows.

Performance Coach of the Season

Performance Umpire of the Season

Young Performance Umpire of the Season

Club of the Season

Club Team of the Season - Women

Club Team of the Season - Men

Club Member of the Season

Club Coach of the Season

Umpire of the Season

Association or League Volunteer of the Season

Our sponsors Harvester are kindly helping to provide a number of fantastic prizes which will benefit the winner as well as their club. If you know of a person, club or team who deserves one of these prestigious awards, please nominate now - click here to complete our online form.

England Hockey Awards Lunch 2011Following the success of last year, the Awards Lunch will be held on Saturday 9th June during the Investec London Cup, just seven weeks before the greatest sporting event in the world. All nominees will be invited to enjoy a fantastic day of hockey beginning with a delicious three course lunch followed by world class women’s teams competing in the Semi-Finals.

In this exciting year for our sport, this is a fantastic opportunity to mingle with the stars at one of EHB’s exclusive events while also experiencing the thrills of the Investec London Cup. Book a table of 10 for £800 +vat or individual tickets for £85 +vat. For further details or to make a booking, please click here or contact Richard Fynn on 01628 897 507 or

Nominate a champion in 2012 and be a part of it - closing date for entries is Sunday 29th April.

*** Click here to complete the easy online form and nominate your champion of 2011-2012 ***