U21s ready for Junior World Cup

England U21 v England Senior Women shot (c) Lawrence King

Ahead of the ERGO Hockey Junior World Cup, which starts on Saturday in Monchengladbach, Germany, England U21 women’s head coach Craig Keegan has named a squad of 18 athletes.

Included in the line-up are a number of familiar faces and names including, Jo Leigh and Shona McCallin who both joined the senior international centralised programme back in April. Jo Leigh had her first taste of playing senior international hockey back in February when she made her debut at the Investec Challenge. Also named in the squad is Hannah Martin, younger sister of London Olympian Harry, though you can read the full squad list at the bottom of this page.

The announcement has been made before the girls' first game against Spain, which is coming up at 15:30 (UK time) on Saturday. England has been drawn in Pool D, finding themselves placed against Spain, Belgium and Germany, which will follow a few days afterwards. The pool games are all over by the 30 July, after which the placements and deciders will run until the final on 4 August.

The England women have already played Belgium and Germany in the lead-up to this announcement, and while the Germans proved to be too strong a side for the girls to beat, England walked away victorious when playing against Belgium, winning two out of their three games. However, with only one game to play to decide, time will tell if the girls will repeat their good performance.

More about the Junior World Cup

The Junior World Cup is held once every four years. There is a 16 team field, which will be split into four pools of four teams each. Following the preliminary round robin, teams will either move into a placement round for the bottom eight finishers or onto a quarterfinal, semi-final and final round. In total, every team is guaranteed six games.

England have been drawn in Pool D and will face tough opposition from Germany, Belgium and Spain.

To view the Hockey Junior World Cup Women’s Schedule click here.

Squad List

1 Steph Addison - Clifton
2 Grace Balsdon - Canterbury
3 Eliza Brett - Canterbury
4 Olivia Chilton - Birmingham University
5 Sophie Crosley - Bowdon Hightown
6 Emily Defroand - Birmingham University
7 Lucy Hyams - Canterbury
8 Josie Inverdale - Leicester
9 Caitlin Jeffries (GK) - Clifton
10 Jo Leigh - Clifton
11 Hannah Martin - Ipswich
12 Shona McCallin - MOP
13 Suzy Petty - Loughborough University
14 Alice Sharp - Birmingham University
15 Amy Tennant (GK) - Bowdon Hightown
16 Fran Tew - Ipswich
17 Anna Toman - Birmingham University
18 Rebecca Van Berkel - Birmingham University