Bleby names U21 squad for Junior World Cup

Jon Bleby gives the team talk to his England U21 side

Jon Bleby, England U21 Men’s Head Coach has named the 18 athletes to travel to India to compete in the 2016 Junior World Cup. The tournament which takes place in Lucknow from 8-18 December brings together the top 16 U21 sides in the world as they fight to take home the coveted title of Junior World Champions.

England are in Pool D and will open their campaign against South Africa on 8 December. Their second pool match pits them against hosts, India on 10 December before they round things off against Canada on 12 December. The quarter finals and placement matches take place from the 14th of December with the final all set for the 18th.

Bleby has named a strong side with 14 of the athletes who came fourth at the recent Sultan of Johor Cup travelling to the tournament in India. The four players who did not travel to Johor who have come in are James Albery, Jonty Griffiths, Ed Horler and Liam Sanford.     

Beeston are the best represented with four of the squad coming from the Nottinghamshire outfit. Loughborough Students and Durham University have each supplied three of the squad.

Head Coach Bleby told England Hockey:

“We are really excited and looking forward to the challenge of the Junior World Cup. As a group we will strive individually & collectively to learn as much from the experience as we possibly can and carefully taking one game at a time our goal is to win every game. The Junior World Cup is always an extremely tough tournament but I strongly believe we have selected a very skilful & hard working group who are good to go.”

The squad and support staff in full can be found below:

James Albery (Beeston)
Will Calnan (Hampstead and Westminster)
Jack Clee (Birmingham University)
James Gall (Nottingham University)
Robbie Gleeson (Beeston)
Jonty Griffiths (Loughborough Students)
Ed Horler (Loughborough Students)
Chris Proctor (Beeston)
Toby Reynolds-Cotterill (GK) (Loughborough Students)
Liam Sanford (Bath Buccaneers)
Peter Scott (Bath Buccaneers)
James Simpson (Hampstead and Westminster)
Rhys Smith (Durham University)
Tom Sorsby (Beeston)
Jack Turner (Durham University)
Eddie Way (Birmingham University)
Jack Waller (Durham University)
Chris Wyver (GK) (Old Georgians)

Non Travelling Reserves         
Elliot Bullman (GK) (Teddington)
Elliot Hibell (Beeston)
Josh Pavis (Beeston)
Duncan Scott (Southgate)
James Oates (Canterbury)

Support Staff   
Jon Bleby         Head Coach
Paul Gannon     Manager
Kwan Browne    Assistant Coach
David Ralph      Assistant Coach
Mark Bateman   Performance Analyst
Sandy Tubby    Physiotherapist
Dominika Goroszeniuk   Doctor

For all the tournament details visit the FIH website.