2018 Men's World Cup Schedule Announced

Men's World Cup
England’s men will face Australia, Ireland and China in Pool B at the 2018 Odisha Hockey World Cup across November and December.

The tournament is being held in Bhubaneswar in India between the 28 November and 16 December as the world’s best teams come together to battle it out at the Kalinga Stadium.

On 30 November England will begin their campaign against current world number 17 ranked side China. Their toughest test in the pool comes in the form of reigning champions, three-time winners and current world number one side Australia on the 4 December.

England will then complete their pool fixtures against a side they know well when they take on Ireland on the 7 December.

England Head Coach Bobby Crutchley said: “It is exciting to see the World Cup schedule and while it is still 9 months away our preparations for the tournament are already under way and we are planning to go as far as possible in the competition.

“I am particularly looking forward to facing our opponents in Pool B. With the new format every match will be important and we have had some great encounters recently against both Australia and Ireland.

“We have less experience against China, but we know they will present a unique challenge. While we will plan thoroughly for each potential opponent, most of all we will prepare our team first to play the best hockey we can play.”

England Fixtures and Timings (GMT)
China - Friday 30 November, 1.30pm
Australia - Tuesday 4 December, 11.30am
Ireland – Friday 7 Dec, 1.30pm