Your Jaffa Super 6s Guide To: Hampstead & Westminster

Hampstead & Westminster Super 6s
Get the lowdown on Hampstead & Westminster as we preview each of the teams taking part in this year’s Jaffa Super 6s Finals!

Tickets are still available for this showpiece event being held at the Copper Box Arena on Sunday 27th January – click HERE to get yours.

How did Hampstead & Westminster get to the Finals?
Despite only being promoted from Division 1 last year, Hampstead & Westminster were the form team in the Men’s Premier Division this year – they topped the table, were the only unbeaten side, scored the most goals (65) and also conceded the fewest (25). 

An impressive 6-2 win over Surbiton was followed by a stunning 10-0 victory over Brooklands MU as they started their campaign in style, before reaching double figures in two further matches, putting Holcombe (10-3) and Canterbury (10-1) to the sword.

Who will they play in the semi-final?
Hampstead & Westminster will take on reigning champions East Grinstead at 13:00, a side they defeated 7-6 in their final match of qualification as both Sam Ward and Anton Pohling hit twice.

Qualification goalscorers
Sam Ward (17), Anton Pohling (15), Richard Smith (10), Kei Kaeppeler (9), Kyle White (7), Marc Edwards (4), Toby Roche, Chris Cargo and Sam French (all 1)

Players to watch 
Having joined in August 2018 from German side Harversthuder, Pohling hit the ground running for his new side and has made a real impression. Having bagged 15 goals from just eight games in the Men’s Premier Division, Pohling certainly has an eye for goal and will be central to his team’s chances as he looks to lead them to the title. 

With ten goals from seven games in qualification, Richard Smith - who played for GB at London 2012 - also caught the eye as an essential component in the Hampstead & Westminster team. And of course, keep an eye out for a man described as a wizard of indoor hockey in Kwan Browne.

Did you know?
This is Hampstead & Westminster’s first Jaffa Super 6s Finals appearance since the tournament reverted back to six-a-side having achieved successive promotions Division 2 and Division 1 in the last two years.