Pools Released for Men's Junior World Cup

The FIH has today named the pools for the Men’s Junior World Cup which is due to take place  in Singapore (SIN) and Johor Bahru (MAS) from 7-21 June 2009.

The BDO women’s Junior World Cup is scheduled to take place in Boston (USA) from 3-16 August 2009. The pools for this event will be released mid-February 2009.

England will face Korea, Malaysia, Spain and the USA in Pool C and will be looking to improve upon their 9th placed finish from 2005. 

Performance Manager Pete Nicholson said “This is a tough group, Malaysia as hosts always perform well on home soil and Korea and Spain who play quick attacking hockey will provide strong opposition. However when you look at all the groups there are no easy ones which demonstrates the strength of the game and should make for a fantastic tournament which will test our players to the full.”

The Pools are as follows:

Pool A
Argentina, Belgium, Egypt, Pakistan, Russia

Pool B
Australia, Chile, Germany,  Japan, South Africa

Pool C
England, Korea, Malaysia, Spain, USA

Pool D
India, Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, Singapore

The match schedule will be available shortly.