England Hockey Annual Awards Lunch 2012 - the nominees

England Hockey is delighted to announce the shortlist of nominees for the England Hockey Awards Lunch 2012.  Following the success of last year’s event the lunch will take place on Saturday 9th June during Investec London Cup.

Recognising the best of hockey from across England, prizes are awarded to individuals, teams and hockey clubs from the very pinnacle of the sport right to the grassroots.

** Book your tickets for Saturday 9th June here **

England Hockey Awards Lunch Logo 2012The Awards

There are three clubs battling it out for the coveted Harvester Club of the Season Award. Nottinghamshire based Beeston Hockey Club will be hoping that 2012 is their year as they are nominated for the second year running in recognition of their overall development throughout the club.  Grimsby Hockey Club is nominated following a very successful modernisation programme, a recent merger with a local ladies team which saw the club gain two new teams and also some very good results in the league.  Marlow Hockey Club, in Buckinghamshire, is the final club on the list for 2012 and has been nominated for overall work in the community, engagement with over a thousand hockey players and a very successful Back to Hockey programme which runs every week.

The Team of the Season category will see one men’s and one women’s team named as winners. The men’s 1st XI teams of Richmond and Wakefield, who both got promoted to the National League are in the running for the Perkins Slade Men’s Team of the Season alongside Whitley Bay and Tynemouth and Wycombe U18 boys, both of which were victorious in their respective leagues.

For the Investec Women’s Club Team of the Season category, the 1st XI sides of Ben Rhydding, East Grinstead, Edenbridge, and Lincoln will have an anxious few weeks to see which team will put the icing on the cake at the end of their season.

Recognising the extraordinary efforts of hockey club volunteers across the land, the Club Member of the Season Award sees three nominees shortlisted. Kate Costin of Bedford Hockey Club makes the list for dedication, with special note for her work with the ladies first team.  From Old Silhillians Hockey Club Stephen Tabb is shortlisted for his work and numerous roles throughout the club. The third and final nominee is Kelvin Briggs from last year’s Harvester Club of the Season Alderley Edge Hockey Club.  In a number of roles, he has played a significant part in overall club growth during recent years, overseeing its expansion which saw a brand new pitch installed at the end of 2011.

In the Club Coach of the Season category there are four nominees.  Richmond’s Soma Singh, Lemington Spa’s Bryan Frazer, Beeston’s Chris Glover and Slazenger’s Steve Wood are all shortlisted in recognition of their coaching achievements over the course of the season.

From the umpiring world, without whom matches could not take place, Stephen Tabb (Old Silhillians), Pete Mackintosh (Kings Alleyns) and Georgina Jackson (Guildford) are all shortlisted for the Umpire of the Season Award.

The final grassroots category is for the Volunteer of the Season, which this year sees a shortlist of two very highly regarded volunteers.  From Midlands Hockey Association, Stephen Tabb is shortlisted alongside Sally Tippen from Cambridgeshire Hockey Association.

The EHB’s Annual Awards also recognise the best of hockey at the Performance end of the sport with prizes awarded in categories for players, coaches and umpires.

Three England regulars are named on the shortlist for The Times Men’s Performance Player of the Season.  Goalkeeper James Fair, forward James Tindall and defender Iain Lewers all make it onto the shortlist for the Performance Player of the Season.

With so many outstanding individuals in contention following the women’s Champions Trophy Tournament and the 2011 Euro Hockey Championships, the shortlisted nominees for the Investec Women’s Performance Player of the Season are midfielder Helen Richardson, defender Laura Unsworth and Captain Kate Walsh.

There are two nominees in the Performance Coach of the Season Award.  On the shortlist for the top coaching award is Nick Clark, who this season has coached the senior women’s indoor team, as well as Canterbury in the Investec Women’s Premier Division and Ian Cordwell, whose coaching helped the England Under 18 boys win gold at this year’s Four Nations Easter Tournament.

The Performance Umpire of the Season Award sees Frances Block and Hamish Jamson shortlisted, both of whom have been selected to umpire at the Olympic Games. Frances Block was appointed to umpire at the Champions Trophy, the Investec Women’s Hockey League Championship Final and the VISA International Invitational Hockey Tournament.  Hamish umpired at the Champions Trophy, the Men’s England Hockey League Championship Final and the VISA International Invitational Hockey Tournament.

Caroline Fenn and Tim Chipperfield are the three finalists in the Young Performance Umpire category.  All of them have exhibited tremendous performances over the season and are highly regarded prospects for the future.

Click here to see the full list of nominees and to find out more about getting your ticket to the event.