Mens Cup Final

Wakefield Hockey Club is the venue for the Men’s Cup final this Saturday plus a full weekend of other finals 

Saturday starts with the Men’s Vase Final which features two teams who have never reached the final of the competition before. Both Winchester and Ashbourne have enjoyed good seasons by finishing second in their respective leagues, scoring plenty of goals along the way. For Winchester, they scored an impressive 97 goals during their league season with a goal difference of 51 in the Hampshire/Surrey Division Two. Ashbourne were not far off this record in East Midlands Division One with their league season including 90 goals with a goal difference of 51.

Guernsey return to the final of the Men’s Trophy for the second year running as they take on Lewes who reach the final for the first time. Lewes have had an impressive season, gaining promotion to the South Premier Division One and they will hope to make it a double over Channel Island teams, having already dispatched Jersey on route to the final. Guernsey have once again caught the eye in this competition and will look to put the disappointment of losing last season’s final to Gateshead behind them, who they beat on route to Wakefield, by lifting the trophy as they did in 2009.

It’s an all NOW: Pensions Premier Division Final in the Men’s Cup which will have a guaranteed new winner as Hampstead & Westminster take on Surbiton. Hampstead & Westminster continue their impressive form in the cup which has been shown in recent years, reaching the final for the third time in four seasons although they are still yet to lift the cup. They did however conquer their Beeston curse by beating them on route to this stage, having lost to them in the cup in the previous three seasons. It’s been a great year for Surbiton having come runners up in the Men’s Premier Division, and they appear in their second cup final having lost out to Reading in 2004.

The first game on Sunday will see an all London tie between Southgate and Teddington in the Men’s 2nd XI Cup Final. Southgate have been great supporters of this competition over the years and will hope to become champions for the first time having come runners up three times in the last four seasons. This is Teddington’s first appearance in the Second XI Cup Final and it comes off the back of a successful season which has seen them become champions of the Higgins London League Division One.

The Women’s Second XI Cup Final features the holders Clifton as they take on Beeston. Clifton continue to be the stand out team in the West with the Second XI finishing third in the West Premier Division 1 which is a higher placed finished than any other Second XI team in that region. Like Clifton, Beeston have also had an incredible season and as a club lead the way in the Midlands. Their Second XI were crowned champions of the Midlands Premier League, with the First XI gaining promotion to the Investec Women’s Premier League via the playoffs.

West Bridgford Monarchs return to the Men’s Second XI Trophy final for the fifth time as they take on Tulse Hill & Dulwich who feature in the final for the first time. West Bridgford Monarchs will hope to retain the trophy they won for the first time last year having lost out the previous three occasions. Tulse Hill & Dulwich will hope to put league form behind them as they enter the final having only won once in the Higgins London League Premier Division.

The Women’s Second XI Trophy features two clubs making their debut in the Final as Formby take on Tulse Hill & Dulwich. Formby have had their highest ever finish as a Second XI team finishing third in the Lancashire Division One and they will hope to finish their season off with a high. The ladies section at Tulse Hill & Dulwich have had an incredible season with all three of their teams winning their leagues and their Second XI will look to remain unbeaten this season with victory in the final.

Sunday will also see the annual Women’s Masters Over 40’s Tournament take place. The competition, which has been running since 1989, features Wimbledon who have won the title the previous two seasons and Northampton HasBeans who won it before then back in 2010. Cambridge City, who were runners up in 2007 will once again represent the East as they did last season, with Bournemouth making their first appearance since 2008 representing the West. The fifth and final team participating will be hosts Wakefield who make their first appearance in this competition.

The schedule for the weekend can be seen in full below. Tickets can be purchased on the gate at Wakefield priced at £6 for adults and £3 for concessions on Saturday, with all tickets £3 on Sunday.

Saturday 4 May

11:00 – Winchester v Ashbourne (Men’s Vase Final)
13:30 – Guernsey v Lewes (Men’s Trophy Final)
16:00 – Hampstead & Westminster v Surbiton (Men’s Cup Final)

Sunday 5 May

10:00 – Southgate v Teddington (Men’s 2nd XI Cup Final)
12:15 – Clifton v Beeston (Women’s 2nd XI Cup Final)
14:30 – Tulse Hill & Dulwich v West Bridgford Monarchs (Men’s 2nd XI Trophy Final)
16:45 – Formby v Tulse Hill & Dulwich (Women’s 2nd XI Trophy Final)

10:00 – 17:45 Women’s Masters Over 40’s Round Robin Tournament