Men's Squad for the Investec London Cup

England's Mark Gleghorne in action against South Africa in June 2013 - credit Frank Uijlenbroek (2)

There’s less than a week to go before England’s men are back in London at the Lee Valley Hockey and Tennis Centre on Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park for the Investec London Cup. Head Coach Bobby Crutchley’s side will face Scotland, Ireland and South Africa in a round-robin tournament before the classification matches take place on Sunday 13 July.

The squad includes all 16 athletes who will be competing in Glasgow at the end of the month in the Commonwealth Games, but with the addition of two extra names to build the squad up to 18 - Reading’s James Bailey and Beeston’s Ollie Willars are named alongside their peers. Beeston’s Tim Whiteman is also included in the squad as he continues to recover well following surgery on his broken thumb.

Speaking ahead of the Investec London Cup England Captain Barry Middleton said, “It’s great to be playing in the Investec London Cup on home turf and to be back on the Olympic Park at our new legacy venue. We had such good support back here during the recent World Cup in the Netherlands and this tournament will help maintain the interest levels we’ve seen in hockey so far this summer. The opportunity to play four competitive matches in front of a home crowd just one week before the Commonwealth Games will definitely help to sharpen the team up before we head off to Glasgow.”

To read about England's opponents in the Investec London Cup, and how their games have played out in the past, click here.

Ahead of playing back on Olympic Park next week, England Men head to Dublin this weekend for two capped matches against their Investec London Cup rivals.

England men’s squad for the Investec London Cup, 9-13 July

Shirt# - Name - Club

  • 1 - George Pinner - Holcombe
  • 2 - James Bailey - Reading
  • 4 - Ollie Willars - Beeston
  • 6 - Henry Weir - Wimbledon
  • 7 - Ashley Jackson - East Grinstead
  • 8 - Simon Mantell - Reading
  • 9 - Harry Martin - Beeston
  • 11 - Alastair Brogdon - Wimbledon
  • 12 - Michael Hoare - Wimbledon
  • 14 - Mark Gleghorne - East Grinstead
  • 15 - Phil Roper - Wimbledon
  • 16 - Adam Dixon - Beeston
  • 18 - Barry Middleton - Holcombe
  • 21 - Tim Whiteman - Beeston
  • 22 - David Condon - East Grinstead
  • 24 - Iain Lewers - Holcombe
  • 26 - Nick Catlin - Holcombe
  • 27 - Dan Fox - Holcombe