England Hockey Award nominees revealed

EH Awards Dinner
On the evening of Saturday 19th May, at the Athena in Leicester, hockey lovers from all over the country will gather at the England Hockey Awards Dinner to celebrate the achievements of volunteers, umpires, coaches and players over the past year.

The quality of the nominees in each of the categories was once again exceptionally high, making for some tough decisions for the England Hockey selection panel.  We are, however, delighted to now announce the following shortlist.

Notts Sport Club of the Year 
Tower Hamlets
Durham Dales 
Hampstead & Westminster 
K Sport 
Aldershot & Farnham 

Howden Men’s Team of the Year 
Ashmoor Men’s 1st XI
Bath Buccaneers Men’s 1st Indoor Team
Bishops Stortford Men’s 5th XI
Leeds Adel Men’s 1st XI
K Sport Men’s 2nd XI
Marlow U18 Boys Team
Boots Men’s 1st XI
Leadenham Men’s 2nd XI
Lymm Men’s 1st XI

Investec Women’s Team of the Year 
Pendle Forest Ladies 1st XI
Rugby & East Warwickshire Ladies 1st XI
London Royals Ladies 1st X
Cambridge City Ladies 3rd XI
Lancaster Ladies 1st XI
Marlow U16 Girls Indoor Squad

Unsung Club Hero
Jen Clark (Wick Ladies HC)
Andy Richardson (Cambridge City HC)
Almena Theobald (Chirstchurch Ladies HC)
Matt Sharp (K Sport)
Suzie Best (Aylesbury HC)
Jemma Smith (Bishops Stortford)
Karen Sanderson (Whitby HC)
Paul Lewis (Leeds Adel HC)

Coach of the Year
Matt Parker (Ilkeston HC)
Rachel Jaurequi (Bristol Firebrands)
Gareth Weaver-Tyler (Durham University HC)
Rob Turner (Wilmslow HC)
Ben Dudley (Bristol University HC)
Gareth Ikin (Doncaster HC) l
Gaynor Nash (Leicester HC)

Official of the Year 
Will Davey (East Region Young Umpire Action Group)
Ian Brown (Hertford HC)
Jon Cloke (Old Silhillians HC)
Chris Peart (KHUA)
Lee Barron (Sheffield University Bankers HC)

Vitality Rising Star
Ben Entwisle (Timperley HC)
Matthew Bell (Stratford HC)
Amar Chudasama (EMHUA)
Eleanor Godwin (Leicester HC)
Freya Duchars (Cronkbourne Bacchanalians)

Scarborough HC
Leadenham HC
Stratford HC
Durham University HC
Durham Dales HC

Hockey Maker of the Year 
Emma Longbottom
Katie Bent
Bev Barstow

In addition to those categories shown, awards will also be presented in the performance player categories.


For a table of 10 it will cost £460 and for an individual ticket it is £47.50 To reserve your ticket(s), please complete the Ticket Booking Form and return it to tom.gray@englandhockey.co.uk For more information on ticket for the night please see our ticket page.

Please note: Tickets come off sale on 11 May so get yours now so you don't miss out! 

Staying Over and travel

There are numerous local hotels available and the Athena is easily accessible by road and rail.  For more information on the hotel locations and discounts available, as well as travel information please download our information document here.

For further information, please contact tom.gray@englandhockey.co.uk