Sue Catton elected to FIH Board

Congratulations to England's Sue Catton who has been elected to the International Hockey Federation's Executive Board at the FIH Congress in Malaysia.

Catton, a former board member of England Hockey, was the competitions manager for hockey and wheelchair rugby at the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games.

The election marked the end of a successful Congress for the British representatives with Great Britain Hockey having been awarded the FIH President's Award on Friday.

The 43rd FIH Congress successfully concluded today with a new Executive Board in place for the next term. In total five Executive Board members were elected to hockey’s governing body with four being newcomers. In addition to the Executive Board election, FIH President Leandro Negre was reconfirmed for another four-year term by the Congress after running unopposed for the position.
“I thank all of the countries and delegates for putting their faith in me for another term.” Negre said. “We have accomplished a lot in the last four years, but there is still work to be done and many new exciting projects to tackle.”
All three of the women elected today are new to the Executive Board. Mary Cicinelli (CAN), Sue Catton (ENG) and Sandra Isola (ARG) were all elected in the first round of voting. As the third-place vote getter, Isola will serve a two-year term instead of the standard four-year term to satisfy the FIH Statutes at the next Congress. The trio replace Anne Ellis (WAL) and Sue Neill (CAN), who are retiring from the Board in addition to Renita Gerard (AUS) who was not re-elected.
Following the voting for the female board members, there were two remaining places to be determined. After one round of voting, those final two places went to standing Executive Board member Jan Albers (NED) and HRH Prince Abdullah Shah. Stephan Abel (GER) will not return to the Board next term
Also as part of the Congress, and a gala dinner the evening before, the FIH handed out a bevy of awards. The recipients of the awards were:
Order of Merit – Anne Ellis (WAL)
Member of Honor – Peter Cohen (AUS)
Member of Honor – Sue Neill (CAN)
President’s Award – Hockey New Zealand
President’s Awards – Great Britain Hockey
Guust Lathouwers Memorial Trophy – Santiago Deo
Rene G. Frank Super Fair Play Trophy – Singapore
Pablo Negre Trophy – Royal Belgian Hockey Association
Theo Ykema Award – Thailand Hockey Association
Etienne Glichitich Award – Hockey Australia

SOURCE: Adapted from FIH announcement