2013/14 Investec Women's League line-up

Reading's Alex Danson challenges with Leicester's Jo Hunter during the Investec Women's Hockey League Final

Following the conclusion of the Promotion and Relegation Play-Offs, the Investec Women’s Hockey League divisions for the forthcoming 2013/14 season have been announced.

Olton & West Warwicks retain their Investec Premier Division status following a successful campaign in the Play-Offs at the Investec Women’s Finals Weekend where they finished second. They will be joined by Beeston from Investec Women’s Conference North who finished in top spot.

Both of these teams pipped Buckingham from Investec Women’s Conference West on goal difference and they will play in the West again along with the relegated side from the Investec Premier Division, Slough. Exe return to the Conference West after one season’s absence after winning the West League with Taunton Vale going in the other direction. Staines are also relegated after losing out in the Relegation Play-Offs. Oxford Hawks transfer from the Investec Conference East and Stourport move to the North due to the regional spread of the thirty teams across the Conferences.

Harleston Magpies stay in Investec Conference East after losing out in the Play-Offs but Chelmsford retained their place in the league after winning the Relegation Play-Offs. East league winners Holcombe and South league champions East Grinstead are both promoted to the East Conference.

In Investec Conference North Nottingham-based Boots qualify from the Midlands league and Kendal do likewise to take national league hockey to Cumbria for the first time in its history. Cannock endured a second successive demotion, through the Relegation Play-offs to leave the North Conference along with Liverpool Sefton.

Structure of the Investec Women's Hockey League for season 2013/14 and the divisions’ constituent teams.

Investec Premier Division


Bowdon Hightown




Olton & West Warwicks



Sutton Coldfield

University of Birmingham
Investec Conference East Investec Conference North Investec Conference West
Chelmsford Ben Rhydding Barnes Hounslow Ealing
East Grinstead Boots (Nottingham) Bristol Firebrands
Harleston Magpies Bradford Wakefield Buckingham
Holcombe Brooklands Poynton Exe
Horsham Doncaster Gloucester City
Ipswich Durham University Isca University
Old Loughtonians Kendal Oxford Hawks
Sevenoaks Loughborough Students Slough
St Albans Stourport Swansea City
Wimbledon Whitley Bay & Tynemouth  Trojans

The geographical location of each of the clubs in the Investec Women’s Hockey League Conferences:

Investec Women's Hockey League Map