And the winnner is.....

David Ames celebrates with his Beeston teammates

The end of a sporting season is traditionally the time when awards are handed out and credit is given to those who have stood out in the heat of the battle. In keeping with tradition we at England Hockey have been busy collating the votes for the players and teams of the season. Having collected votes from those who competed in the Premier Division and all three conferences, the results are in. Read on to see if your favourite player made it into the best of the best!

Premier Division.

Men's Premier Division Team of the Season 2014-15

The Premier Division’s Player of the Season was Beeston’s David Ames. Ames has turned heads with his midfield versatility, his solid defensive work and his quality on and off the ball. Despite the disappointment of finishing fourth in the weekend’s Championship Playoffs, the 25-year-old has had a season to remember.

Ames is joined in the team of the season by two of his club teammates, Adam Dixon and Tim Whiteman. Four Surbiton players make the grade with strike duo Matt Daly and Alan Forsyth joined by Chris Grassick and Will Marshall. Three East Grinstead stalwarts have also been selected alongside Mikey Hoare, of newly crowned champions Wimbledon.

North Conference.

Men's Conference North team of the season 2014-15

The North Conference Player of the Year was Bowdon goalkeeper Rob Turner. Many of the headlines on the way to Bowdon’s title triumph were taken by the goal scorers, but Turner proved a model of consistency. He makes difficult saves look routine and was a rock in a mean Bowdon defence who conceded just 23 times.

Turner shares the team of the season honours with club mates Simon Egerton, Ian Wilson and Oliver Stoddart. Durham, Sheffield Hallam and Loughborough Students are represented and Muhammed Irfan of Olton and Joe Morrison of Doncaster also make the cut.

East Conference.

Men's East Conference Team of the Season 2014-15

Player of the Year in the East Conference went to Holcombe’s Nick Catlin. In a year where the Kent side swept all before them, Catlin’s mesmeric dribbling skills, pace on and off the ball and his eye for goal (scoring eight times in 15 games) ensured the former Reading star picked up the player of the year award to add to the promotion his side have just gained. A job well done for the England Man.

As expected, the team of the season is dominated by Holcombe with six of the places taken by their stars. Runners up Bromley and Beckenham have two players in the side with Ali Falconer and Peter Dobson making the grade. Cambridge City’s former Great Britain star Ali Wilson is also included, whilst Matt Cox of Chichester caps a fine debut season in the league with a place in the team of the year.

West Conference.

Men's West Conference Team of the Season 2014-15

Cardiff and Met’s Liam Brignull scooped the West Conference award for the second year running. Despite Cardiff missing out on the title, Brignull’s ten goals and his accomplished play in midfield impressed his peers enough to hand him the top award in the division. The former Cheltenham star has had an outstanding campaign.

Seven places are taken in the west team by Bath Bucanneers and Cardiff and Met between them, whilst Sam French of Birmingham University and Ed Fleet of Exeter University ensure the student sides are represented. Indian Gymkhana’s Jagdeep Gill slots into the defence and as seems to be the norm, Great Britain legend Simon Mason takes the goalkeeper slot.

Premier Division:
Patrick Smith (East Grinstead)
Tim Whiteman (Beeston)
William Marshall (Surbiton)
Mikey Hoare (Wimbledon)
Andy Bull (East Grinstead)
Chris Grassick (Surbiton)
Adam Dixon (Beeston)
David Ames (Beeston) *Player of the Season
Matt Daly (Surbiton) *Top Goalscorer, 27 goals.
Alan Forsyth (Surbiton)
David Condon (East Grinstead)

North Conference.
Rob Turner (Bowdon) *Player of the Season
Muhammed Irfan (Olton and West Warwicks)
Brendan Creed (Sheffield Hallam)
Ollie Davies (University of Durham)
Oliver Stoddart (Bowdon)
Mark Galloway (University of Durham)
Ian Wilson (Bowdon)
Jonty Griffiths (Loughborough Students)
Liam Ansell (Sheffield Hallam) *Top Goalscorer, 29 goals.
Simon Egerton (Bowdon)
Joe Morrison (Doncaster)

Conference East.
George Pinner (Holcombe)
Ali Wilson (Cambridge City)
Dan Fox (Holcombe)
Iain Lewers (Holcombe)
Ali Falconer (Bromley and Beckenham)
Matt Cox (Chichester Priory Park)
Barry Middleton (Holcombe)
Dan Webster (West Herts)
Nick Catlin (Holcombe) *Player of the Season
Gareth Andrew (Holcombe) * Top goalscorer, 28 goals
Peter Dobson (Bromley and Beckenham)

Conference West
Simon Mason (Guildford)
Jagdeep Gill (Indian Gymkhana)
Henry Eriksson (Cardiff and Met)
Ed Fleet (University of Exeter)
Liam Sanford (Team Bath Buccaneers)
Liam Brignull (Cardiff and Met) * Player of the Season
Rhys Gowman (Cardiff and Met)
Ben Mackey (Team Bath Buccaneers)
Sam French (Birmingham University)
Tim Davenport (Team Bath Buccaneers) * Top goalscorer, 27 goals
Luke Hawker (Cardiff and Met)