Investec Women's League Teams of the Season 2014-15

Rebecca Herbert with her award 2014-15

As with the Men's Hockey League, we have been busy collecting the votes to crown the Investec Women's Hockey League Players' Players of the Season as well as the teams of the season. After carefully collating all the votes, the results are in. Check below to see who made the cut to be one of the best in the league.

Premier Division

IWPL Team of the Season 14-15

The Investec Women's Premier Division Player of the Season was Surbiton's Rebecca Herbert. The striker also finished as the division's top scorer as her side swept to an all conquering season, going undefeated and winning the championship playoffs. Herbert's lightning speed, skill and ability to finish chances has caught the eye in the top flight and earned her the two top awards.

The team of the season has three players from Canterbury as Mel Clewlow and Grace Balsdon, part of the defence who kept nine clean sheets this season line up alongside Great Britain duo Hollie Webb (Surbiton) and Laura Unsworth (Holcombe.) Bowdon Hightown's Amy Tennant continues to get rave reviews as the division's top stopper and takes the No1 jersey.  
The third Canterbury player is Susannah Townsend. Clifton's Joie Leigh is recognised for her excellent season and is joined in the midfield trio by Alice Sharp of Birmingham University. Player of the Year Herbert spearheads and attack with club teammate Sarah Page and rising star Holly Hunt, the Hockey Writers' Club Young Player of the Year.   

West Conference

IWWC Team of the Season 14-15

Oxford Hawks defender Takara Haines has capped a fine season by being voted the Player of the Season in the West Conference. Despite their mid table finish, Hawks boasted the fourth best defence in the league. Haines' tenacity, tackling and work rate more than played its part.

The team of the season is dominated by Champions Slough who have five players included. Dilly Newton, Jo Bryant, Kat McGonigle, Laura Bailey and Jess Brooker all got the nod. Top scorer in the division Zoe Burford joins Brooker and Holly Savage of Firebrands up front whilst Olton duo Kerry Thompson-Moore and Katie Brough also make the cut. Trojans goalkeeper Claire Gover takes spot between the posts after a splendid season.  

North Conference

IWHL North Team of the Season 14-15

Ellie Tait is the double award winner in the North Conference as her 20 goals fired her to both top scorer and Player of the Season gongs. The Loughborough Student has really impressed with her fast hands and predatory instincts inside the circle accounting for almost 59% of her side's goals this season. She was, without doubt, the most feared striker in the division.

Ben Rhydding's defensive unit gets some recognition with goalkeeper Charlotte Smith and defenders Rachelle le Bourdon and Tash Janzen making the team of the season. Sophie Manning is also in the back four alongside Jane Donnelly of Wakefield. The Student sides are prominent with Durham duo Molly Rawnsley and Phillipa Lewis lining up alongside Tait and Loughborough skipper Kim Leiper. Wakefield's Sally Walton and Sutton Coldfield's Emma McCabe take the final two slots.

East Conference

IWHL East Conference Team of the Season 14-15

Few surprises in the East Conference as East Grinstead's Sophie Bray collected both Top Goalscorer and Player of the Year awards. The Great Britain No19 went on to showcase why she was so highly regarded by her peers with some outstanding displays in the promotion playoffs to help her side into the Premier Division. Bray has skills aplenty, pace and an eye for goal. A class act as recognised by the rest of the division.

East Grinstead have two other players in the team of the season with Joanna Davis in defence and Kirsty Mackay in goal. St Albans trio Natasha Humphries, Ellie Watton and Hannah Macleod are also in with Wimbledon and Chelmsford represented by Amy Tippen and Emer Acton respectively. Emma Lee-Smith's nine goals for Harleston give her a place whilst the front three is a formidable trio. Bray is joined by two ex-England stars in Cathy Gilliat-Smith and Jane Smith. Plenty of goals there!

Premier Division 
Amy Tennant, Bowdon Hightown
Hollie Webb, Surbiton
Mel Clewlow, Canterbury
Laura Unsworth, Holcombe
Grace Balsdon, Canterbury
Susannah Townsend, Canterbury
Joie Leigh, Clifton
Alice Sharp, University of Birmingham
Sarah Page, Surbiton
Rebecca Herbert, Surbiton
Holly Hunt, Bowdon Hightown 

West Conference
Claire Gover, Trojans
Dilly Newton, Slough
Takara Haines, Oxford Hawks
Jo Bryant, Slough
Kerry Thompson-Moore, Olton and West Warwicks
Kat McGonigle, Slough
Laura Bailey, Slough
Katie Brough, Olton and West Warwicks
Zoe Buford, Gloucester City
Jess Brooker, Slough
Holly Savage, Bristol Firebrands

North Conference
Charlotte Smith, Ben Rhydding
Rachelle Le Bourdon, Ben Rhydding
Sophie Manning, Sutton Coldfield
Jane Donnelly, Wakefield 
Tash Janzen, Ben Rhydding
Molly Rawnsley, University of Durham,
Sally Walton, Wakefield
Kim Leiper, Loughborough Students
Ellie Tait, Loughborough Students
Phillipa Lewis, University of Durham
Emma McCabe, Sutton Coldfield

East Conference
Kirsty Mackay, East Grinstead
Joanna Davis, East Grinstead
Natasha Humpries, St Albans
Amy Tippen, Wimbledon,
Emer Acton, Chelmsford
Ellie Watton, St Albans
Hannah Macleod, St Albans
Emma Lee-Smith, Harleston Magpies 
Cathy Gilliat-Smith, Sevenoaks
Sophie Bray, East Grinstead
Jane Smith, Maidenhead