In2Hockey finals

logo for thumbnail

Last weekend saw the In2hockey finals at Highfields Hockey Centre, Nottingham, the home of Beeston HC.  20 Schools and 20 clubs who had qualified from Regional tournaments took part.

For full results and standings from all tournaments click here  



Despite losing to Stamford in their first game, Dean Close claimed top spot in Pool A with impressive wins against, St Georges, Harrogate and Oakham in the pool stages. Stamford drew with local rivals Oakham and lost to St Georges but despite this reverse took the runners-up on place on goal difference from the Surrey side.

Over in Pool B, holders Whitgift topped the group after winning all four of their pool games and picking up maximum points in the process. Millfield claimed 2nd place after beating Rossall and Ipswich and gaining a final draw with Bishops Vesey to beat Ipswich to the 3-4 playoff game by one point.

The final proved to be a close contest but Whitgift were undone when Dean Close’s Jacob Payton scored the only goal of the game in the 5th minute to give victory to the Cheltenham side.. Millfield started the 3rd/4th play off game with a great goal from Ciaran Donoghue. They doubled their lead before Stamford responded in the 11th minute with a superb goal from Harry Tidswell.  However Millfield hung on to claim a 2-1 win to finish 3rd overall.

dean close

Winners: Dean Close
Runners Up: Whitgift
3rd Place: Millfield
4th Place: Stamford
5th Place: St Georges
6th Place: Ipswich
7th Place: Rossall
8th Place: Oakham
9th Place: Harrogate
10th Place: Bishops Vesey


Holders Danes Hill quickly became Pool C leaders winning all four of their pool games and topping the group with an impressive goal tally of 19 with just 1 conceded.. The Junior Kings School, Canterbury took second place in the pool C table with three wins out of four.

In Pool D, Loughborough also had a very successful  day winning all four games to reach the final. Below them, St Georges, St Faiths and Cheadle Hulme  all finished on 6 points winning two out of the four games. St Georges took 2nd place on goal difference and headed to the 3-4 playoff game.

Double Strikes from Darcy Bourne and Kitty Baccanello fired Danes Hill to a convincing 5-1 win over Loughborough. Bourne struck twice in two minutes to give Danes Hill a 2 goal lead from which their opponents never recovered. Baccanello struck either side of a Emily Guckian’s penalty corner. Loughborough scored a late consolation through Imogen Hatten to end a great first visit for them to the national finals but Danes Hill were worthy winners again.

The only goal from the 3rd 4th playoff game came early on in the first half from St Georges Lucy Clemmow. And they withstood a late surge from Kings Junior to claim the 3rd spot.

dane hill 2015

Winners: Danes Hill
Runners Up: Loughborough
3rd Place: St Georges
4th Place: Junior Kings
5th Place: St Faiths
6th Place: Dean Close
7th Place: Queens
8th Place: Cheadle Hulme
9th Place: Kingsmead
10th Place: Kings Hall



Pool A was a very tight competition with all teams winning at least once. Canterbury and Harrogate topped the table after both winning 3 of their 4 games.  Canterbury beat the Yorkshire side but lost their last game to Saffron Walden to mean qualification for the final was decided, in their favour,  on goal difference.  Harrogate were  left to battle it out in the 3rd/4th play off.

In Pool B, Surbiton qualified for the finals after winning 3 of their games and drawing with 2nd placed Leicester who finished behind them after a loss against Alderley Edge.

The final got off to a quick start with Surbiton scoring in the 2nd minute. 2 goals from Oliver Shelton and one from Tom Lawes secured a 3-0 defeat of Canterbury and the 2015 title for Surbiton. Harrogate and Leicester battled it out for 3rd with the only goal coming in the 6th minute from Harrogate’s number 17 Jan Schrewe.

Surbiton 2015

Winners: Surbiton
Runners Up: Canterbury
3rd Place: Harrogate
4th Place: Leicester
5th Place: Belper
6th Place: Isca
7th Place: Gloucester City
8th Place: Alderley Edge
9th Place: Cambridge City
10th Place: Saffron Walden


Spencer and Surbiton both enjoyed great days at the In2Hockey club finals with both teams topping their pools without losing a game, Surbiton following in their boys footsteps. The final saw both teams playing impressive hockey with Spencer’s captain Chloe Gravestock scoring the winning goal on the final minute of the game to give Spencer a 2-1 win over their Greater London rivals.

The 3rd/4th playoff was contested by Burton and Phoenix Blue Hornets with both teams only losing games earlier in the day to the eventual finalists. Burton won 1-0 with a great goal by Felicity Norcross to claim 3rd place.

Spencer U12 2015

Winners: Spencer
Runners Up: Surbiton
3rd Place: Burton
4th Place: Phoenix Blue Hornets
5th Place: Cirencester
6th Place: Worcester
7th Place: Ipswich
8th Place: Bournemouth
9th Place: Wakefield
10th Place: Thirsk