FIH confirms team allocation for Hockey World League Semi-Finals

Alex Danson celebrates another goal for England

As well as the announcement of the teams to compete at the 2017 Hockey World League in London, the International Hockey Federation (FIH) has confirmed which teams will be taking part in each of the other Hockey World League Semi-Finals being played in Belgium and South Africa between June and July in 2017.

Two men’s and two women’s Semi-Finals, which are Hockey World Cup 2018 qualifiers, will take place at these three locations between 15 June and 23 July.

10 teams will take part in each Semi-Final, with the first six now confirmed based on their current FIH Hero World Ranking. Four more teams will qualify for each Semi-Final from the Hockey World League Round 2 events taking place between January and April 2017.

England’s men will be looking to pack out the stands at London’s Lee Valley Hockey and Tennis Centre between 15-25 June as they look forward to welcoming Rio 2016 Olympic gold medallists Argentina, reigning European champions Netherlands, Asian champions India, Korea and Pakistan. With such an array of world class talent already confirmed, fans need not miss out. Whilst fixture details will be confirmed soon, fans can already buy tickets for all sessions, including the all-important classification matches, here.

England’s women, represented by many athletes who won the Rio 2016 Olympic gold medal for Great Britain will travel to Randburg Hockey Stadium in Johannesburg between 8-23 July in the last of the Semi-Finals. There, they will take on reigning Hockey Champions Trophy and World League champions Argentina, Olympic bronze medallists Germany, African champions and hosts South Africa, Pan American champions USA and Japan.

The men’s event will be contested between Hockey World Cup, World League and Champions Trophy winners Australia, Olympic silver medallists Belgium, Olympic bronze medallists Germany, New Zealand, Spain and hosts South Africa, winners of last year’s African Hockey Championship.

The first women’s Semi-Final begins at the Stade Fallon in Brussels on 21 June and concludes on 2 July. Reigning world champions Netherlands will be going up against hosts Belgium, Oceania champions Australia, Hockey World League Season 2 runners up New Zealand, China and Asian champions Korea.

Composed of four rounds and played over two years, the Hockey World League shines a spotlight on the sport around the world. Even the smallest hockey-playing nations have the opportunity to write their own chapter in hockey’s history books.

A lot is at stake for teams participating in these Hockey World League Semi-Finals. Whilst vital FIH Hero World Ranking points will be awarded depending on final standings, the top teams from each Semi-Final will qualify for the 2018 Hockey World Cups in India (men) and England (women) in addition to the Hockey World League Finals taking place in India (men) and New Zealand (women) later in 2017.

Hockey World League Semi-Finals Participating Teams


London, England (15-25 June 2017)
Argentina; Netherlands; India; England; Korea; Pakistan + 4 teams from Hockey World League Round 2.

Johannesburg, South Africa (8-23 July 2017)
Australia; Germany; Belgium; New Zealand; Spain; South Africa + 4 teams from Hockey World League Round 2.


Brussels, Belgium (21 June – 2 July 2017)
Netherlands; Australia; New Zealand; China; Korea; Belgium + 4 teams from Hockey World League Round 2.

Johannesburg, South Africa (8-23 July 2017)
England; Argentina; USA; Germany; Japan; South Africa + 4 teams from Hockey World League Round 2.