Saxon Tigers do the U18s double

Saxon Tigers Futures Cup GU18 Winners

Wessex Leopards (1) 3
Lucy Robinson 12 (FG)
Phoebe Buddstone 44 (FG)
Georgie Mctear 70 (PC)

Saxon Tigers (6) 6
Abby Gooderham 8 (FG) 19 (FG)
Catherine Ledesma 23 (FG)
Jordan Homann 29 (PC)
Hannah Griggs 31 (FG)  
Molly Redgrove 33 (PC)

Six of the best in the first half shot Saxon Tigers to the title in the Girls U18 Futures Cup. Abby Gooderham helped herself to a double in the opening 35 minutes as the Tigers went in at the break 6-1 up. Despite a spirited second half by the Wessex Leopards, the deficit was too much and it finished 6-3.   

Gooderham opened the scoring, calmly converting a one-on-one with the goalkeeper in the eight minute.  Wessex were quick to counter and Lucy Robinson pulled one back for her side. Gooderham soon re-established the lead with her second of the game, knocking the ball in by the left hand post. Saxons took control and the goals started to come. Catherine Ledsma scored the third and Jordan Homann slotted the ball under the keeper to give her side a 4-1 lead. Hannah Griggs won a battle in the circle to get the ball on her reverse to confidently put the it away for the Tigers' fifth goal. A minute before the half time whistle Molly Redgrove executed a well-taken drag flick to finish the half with a 6-1 lead.

Wessex came out for the second half fighting. After pressuring the defence Phoebe Buddstone found herself in a good position where she put away the rebound, giving her side their second goal. The play was end to end and Wessex got their third in the 70th minute from Georgie Mctear. Despite their second half efforts, the Leopards were well beaten and the Tigers took the title.

3rd/4th Match 

Mercia Lynx (1) 3 
Lucy Walton 23 (PC), 43 (PC)
Olivia Back 63 (FG)

Caledonian Cougars (1) 1 
Kayleigh Justice 9 (FG)

5th/6th Match 

Celtic Jaguars (3) 4
Caroline Hulme 26 (FG)
Lauren Dunn 29 (PC)
Sarah-Jayne Thorburn 32 (FG)  
Lowri Ratti 47 (PC)

Pennine Pumas (3) 6
Fiona Crackles 7 (PS), 43 (PC)
Kaitlyn Newby 9 (PC)
Emma Bickley 9 (PC)
Tor Hughes 48 (FG)
Annabel Hebb 58 (FG)

Final Standings 

  1. Saxon Tigers
  2. Wessex Leopards
  3. Mercia Lynx
  4. Caledonian Cougars
  5. Pennine Pumas
  6. Celtic Jaguars

U18 Boys Results 

Saxon Tigers (2) 4
Morgan Males 8 (PC)
Jake Owen 18 (PC)
Max Howitt 54 (FG)
Jagdeep Hanspal 61(PC)

Wessex Leopards (1) 1
Owen Williamson 24 (PC)

Saxon Tigers completed a double in the U18s Futures Cup as their boys team repeated the trick their girls had earlier on to take home the title. They were pushed to the limits by Wessex Leopards but came out on top 4-1 to be crowned champions.

The Tigers applied the pressure early on and after a few attacks into the circle they were finally rewarded by a penalty corner which Morgan Males slotted away. This didn’t knock the Wessex Leopards and Owen McLaughlin confidently went on the attack carrying the ball into the circle and taking a shot on goal, only for his effort to flash inches over the top of the goal. It could have been either side to score next but it was Saxon Tigers who extended their lead as Jake Owen tapped in the rebound across goal. The Leopards were finally rewarded for their hard work as Owen Williamson took his chance at a penalty corner to get his side on the score sheet, this finishing the half 2-1.

The second half started with both sides full of energy; both attacking hard in the circle. Max Howitt took advantage of an error in the Wessex defence and beat the keeper with a deft touch on the ball to give his side a third goal. On the 61st minute the goalkeeper did well to deny the initial shot but Jagdeep Hanspal managed to get a clean shot on target extend their lead and secure the title.   

3rd/4th Match

Mercia Lynx (1) 1

Gareth Griffths 19 (PC)

Pennine Pumas (0) 1

Thomas Russell 33 (PS)

Pennine Pumas win 3-1 in the shoot out

5th/6th Match

Caledonian Cougars (0) 2

Cameron Golden 48 (FG)

Fraser Calder 51 (FG)

Celtic Jaguars (1) 1

Jolyon Morgan (FG)


Final Standings

  1. Saxon Tigers
  2. Wessex Leopards
  3. Pennine Pumas
  4. Mercia Lynx
  5. Caledonian Cougars
  6. Celtic Jaguars