Trio of squads named for Vitality Hockey Women's World Cup

WC Squads

As the Vitality Hockey Women’s World Cup edges ever closer squads for the tournaments in London are being announced thick and fast!

This week three nations named their athletes to compete at Lee Valley Hockey and Tennis Centre this summer between 21 July and 5 August.

Two time champions Germany have named their team of 18 which includes ten bronze medallists from their Olympic campaign at Rio 2016 as well as host of both experience and young talents.

Janne Muller-Wieland will lead the side as captain and has over 250 international caps to her name. Meanwhile young stars Nike Lorenz and Charlotte Stapenhorst have also been included and will be ones to watch as the action unfolds at Lee Valley Hockey and Tennis Centre.

Hockey Australia also revealed their 18-member team this week as they prepare for take on Japan, Belgium and New Zealand in their pool.

The Hockeyroos are boosted by the return of defender Georgina Morgan after a long injury lay off while new talents Kalindi Commerford and Kristina Bates are selected.

With over 100 international goals for her country Jodie Kenny will be hoping to add to this tally in London.

Meanwhile Ireland, who are playing at the World Cup or the first time since 2002, have also named their squad. Captain Katie Mullan is known for her leadership and physical presence on the pitch while Anna O’Flanagan has a keen eye for goal at international level.



Julia Ciupka

Nathalie Kubalski

Lisa Altenburg

Hannah Gablać

Elisa Gräve

Franzisca Hauke

Viktoria Martha Huse

Nike Lorenz

Marie Mävers

Lena Micheel

Janne Müller-Wieland (C)

Selin Oruz

Cécile Pieper

Maike Schaunig

Anne Schröder

Charlotte Stapenhorst

Jana Teschke

Amelie Wortmann 



Jocelyn Bartram

Kristina Bates

Edwina   Bone

Kalindi Commerford

Madison Fitzpatrick

Emily Hurtz

Jodie Kenny

Stephanie Kershaw

Rachael Lynch

Ambrosia Malone

Karri McMahon

Georgina Morgan

Kaitlin Nobbs

Brooke Peris

Kathryn Slattery          

Emily Smith

Grace Stewart

Renee Taylor


Ayeisha McFerran 

Grace O’Flanagan 

Yvonne O’Byrne 

Hannah Matthews 

Elena Tice 

Zoe Wilson 

Roisin Upton 

Shirley McCay 

Katie Mullan 

Nicci Daly 

Gillian Pinder

Megan Frazer 

Chloe Watkins 

Lizzie Colvin 

Deirdre Duke 

Nicola Evans 

Ali Meeke 

Anna O’Flanagan