City of York Scoops European Award

At the weekend, City of York Hockey Club was awarded the EuroHockey Club of the Year Award 2008, which was presented to club Chairman Nigel Herd at a ceremony in the Netherlands as part of the EuroHockey Nations Championships. 

One of the key contirbutors to the club's success in being recognised for the award has been the running of the Pete Feasby Memorial Tournament, where over 30 primary schools in the York area come together to participate in a hockey festival.

The club was the 49th ClubsFirst accredited club in England and has a fantastic junior section boasting 300 juniors.  They were invited to the Netherlands to receive their award by the European Hockey Federation.

Club Chairman Nigel Herd and members of City of York HC collect the EuroHockey Club of the Year Award 2008 in Amsterdam, August 2009On receiving the award, Chairman Nigel Herd said, "We merged the club 11 years ago as hockey was wavering in York and this award is a fantatic reward for 11 years hard work. We achieved our England Hockey club accredtiation in 2006 and we now have two Club-School Link partnerships and work with over 50 schools in the York area."

Congratulating City of York HC, England Hockey Development Director Holly Woodford said, "this is a superb achievment for City of York and everyone at England Hockey is very proud of their award.  It is an excellent club and many of their volunteers have worked tirelessly to build their club to the success it is today."

Pictured: Bob Maltyby, CoY HC youth co-ordinator, Nigel Herd club chairman, Roger Jackson and Tom Feasby.