Hockey Writers' Club Awards

Helen Richardson and Ashley Jackson were named UK Players of 2009 by the Hockey Writers' Club at the Annual Awards Lunch on Tuesday 26th January. 

Following the annual poll conducted amongst British members of the Hockey Writers' Club, they join a long line of winners since the award was established in 1983, including Sean Kerly, MBE, Jane Sixsmith, Danny Hall and of course four times winner Crista Cullen amongst other hockey luminaries.

Jackson was unable to accept his award as he was playing against Spain in Cadiz (click here for report), so his brother Wesley was proud to accept it on his behalf.

Helen Richardson and HWC UK Player of the Year 2009 Award

Both Richardson and Jackson donated their cheques to club Juniors. Richardson to the Youth Section of her first club - West Bridgford Monarchs Hockey Club and Jackson to the Junior Section of East Grinstead Hockey Club. 

Sarah Haycroft and Richard Higgins HWC 2010Sarah Haycroft and David Condon won the Higgins Youth Awards. Condon was unable to accept his award as he was sitting his University exams. Haycroft received hers from Richard Higgins, chairman of award sponsor Higgins Group plc.

Andy Tapley Wins The Times Sydney Friskin Memorial 2009 Award

The Times Sydney Friskin Memorial Goblet for 2009 was presented by Managing Editor of the Times, David Chappell and Sydney Friskin's son, Neil to Andy Tapley in recognition of his Outstanding Service to hockey.

The full reports of each award are available for download below.

Images ©