• Competitions & Events

England Hockey Awards 2023 Winners Unveiled In A Glittering Ceremony

England Hockey Awards 2023 Winners Unveiled In A Glittering Ceremony 

The much-awaited England Hockey Awards 2023, presented by Notts Sport, saw the hockey community celebrate a season of success in what was a glittering evening in Leicester on Saturday, July 1. 

Members of the English hockey world enjoyed a night of fun and dancing amidst the presentation of the awards for the 2022/23 season at the Athena. 

The annual event took place in person for the first time since 2019, it saw the launch of Photography Awards. Sophia Dennett was awarded the Young Photographer of The Year, Holly Hancocks took home Photographer of The Year, and Graeme Wilcockson won the Professional Photographer Of The Year for their photographs in various categories. 

Presenters Simon Mason and Emily Kilner ensured the attendees had a fantastic evening and everyone got the recognition they deserved for their amazing achievements throughout 2022 and 2023. 

The awards began with the Performance Players of the Year, Conor Williamson won the Men's Junior Performance Player, while Sofia Martin was awarded the Women's Junior Performance Player of the Year. Zach Wallace was named Men's Senior Performance Player, while Giselle Ansley won Women's Senior Performance Player of the Year

Allan Orient won the Hockey Maker of the Year award for his achievements and commitment to his work as a volunteer at not only the FIH Pro League but also other domestic competitions and work behind the scenes.  

Lottie Porter won the Coach of the Year award for championing state school hockey at Great Marlow School as well as being an inspiration to so many.  

Rachel Williams won Official of The Year for her contributions to umpiring and making history as a female umpire, both domestically and internationally this year.  

Lochlann Kaye of Wakefield was awarded the Rising Star for his key role in the development the successful Hockey ID team in 2022 and lead role in coaching the GB Special Olympics team who win Gold at this year Special Olympic World Games.  

Spencer Lynx were the Diversity & Inclusion Champion of the Year for helping increase diversity in hockey from their South London based club. They have significantly increased the diversity of hockey by introducing the sport to over 3000 under-served children from local inner city state primary schools. 

Leighan Bleasdale, Jan Bowen, Nick Haynes & Judith Jones were the Area/County Volunteers of the Year for their devotion to hockey throughout the various roles in the areas and counties.  

The Unsung Club Hero of the Year award was won by Chris Nightingale for helping Telford & Wrekin rebrand and refresh, not only their facilities but online presence. He has been key in elevating the club. 

The Lifetime Achievement award went to three well-deserving winners this year, Chris Hatch - Ipswich East Suffolk, Hilary Brown - Crowborough and Jose Tibbenham - Harleston Magpies. All three have dedicated years to ensuring the clubs exist and run. They show passion and inspire many across the sport and it's fantastic that we can give them a small reward for all their hard work.

The evening continued with a delicious three-course meal where international players shared stories with the community.  

As the evening drew to a close the final awards were announced. Tower Hamlets Club 1st Xl clinched the Men's Team of the Year, for their outstanding record this season.  

Caradon Women's 1st XI won the Women's Team of the Year award having achieved remarkable success with consecutive promotions, advancing from West Division 2 South to West Division 1 South and now preparing to enter the West Premier League in the 2023-24 season. 

Bloxwich HC won Emerging Club of the Year after seeing incredible growth over the past year. 

Lastly, Guildford Hockey Club emerged as the winner of the Notts Sport Club of the Year after leading the way in the innovative and sustainable growth of hockey in South West Surrey and Hampshire. The club’s vision is to provide Great Hockey for everyone in a safe, friendly, and welcoming environment. 

Well done to everyone who has been nominated and shortlisted and a huge congratulations to all of the winners.