Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games Hockey schedule announced

England Hockey fans at Lee Valley

The match schedule for the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games has been announced with England’s men and women heading to Australia in April looking to win their first gold medals at the tournament.

England’s men will come up against India, Malaysia, Pakistan and Wales in Pool B while the women face India, South Africa, Malaysia and Wales in Pool A.

At the Glasgow Commonwealth Games, England picked up two medals as the men beat New Zealand in a penalty shootout to take bronze while the women were runners-up after losing on penalties to Australia.

The announcement sees the 10 competing nations for both men’s and women’s Hockey competitions divided into two pools of five based on their FIH World Rankings.

Teams have been divided into pools in a snaking pattern from the top-seeded nation down to the 10th-seeded nation in order to evenly spread competing nations across both pools.

Each team will play every other team within their pool during the preliminary round matches from 5-11 April before the top two teams in each pool advance to the semi-final and medal matches from April 12-14.

International Hockey Federation CEO Jason McCracken: “We would like to congratulate all of the teams on their qualification for the 2018 Commonwealth Games. The announcement will undoubtedly boost excitement for both teams and fans who now know who they will battle to qualify for the knock-out stages of the competition. 

“The Commonwealth Games is a key event in the Hockey calendar for many of these nations. With so many world-class teams involved, plus an exceptional venue for our sport, hockey will be showcased at its best in the Gold Coast next April.”

England Women's Fixtures:

5th April – South Africa – 5.30am UK Time

6th April – Wales – 10.30am UK Time

7th April – India – 12.30pm UK Time

9th April – Malaysia – 10.30am UK Time

12th April – Semi-Finals and Classifications

14th April – Final and Bronze medal matches

England Men's Fixtures:

6th April – Malaysia – 12.30pm UK Time

8th April – Pakistan – 5.30am UK Time

10th April – Wales – 5.30am UK Time

11th April – India – 10.30am UK Time

13th April – Semi-Finals and Classifications

14th April – Final and Bronze medal matches