Euro Hockey League Draw

The Euro Hockey League and the European Hockey Federation are delighted to announce the draw and venues for Rounds 1.1 and 1.2 of the forthcoming 2011-2012 season.

Euro Hockey League LogoGerman newcomers HTC Uhlenhorst Mülheim and Belgian champions KHC Dragons will host their first ever Euro Hockey League tournaments when the hugely successful and pioneering club competition enters its fifth season later this year. The Round 1 tournaments will take place over two weekends in October. Round 1.1 Mülheim will begin on Friday 7th October and finish on Sunday 9th October 2011. Round 1.2 Brasschaat will take place two weeks later, beginning on Friday 21st October and finishing on Sunday 23rd October 2011. Each event will feature 12 of Europe’s finest club teams fighting it out in a bid to reach Easter’s stunning KO16 tournament, which will take place in The Netherlands.

“We are absolutely thrilled that HTC Uhlenhorst Mülheim and KHC Dragons will host the first rounds of the Euro Hockey League”, said EHL Chairman of the Board Jons Hensel. “It is fantastic that HTC Uhlenhorst will make their first Euro Hockey League appearances in front of their home fans, and we are confident that the club will make a superb job of hosting the tournament. KHC Dragons will also be magnificent hosts, and their passionate supporters will no doubt ensure that there is a wonderful atmosphere at the event.” HTC Uhlenhorst – situated in the city of Mülheim an der Ruhr in the North Rhine-Westphalia area of Germany – will be the location of the matches that take place in Pools B, C, G and H.

The host club, who finished second in Germany’s Bundesliga last season, will compete in Pool B where they will face Spanish giants Atlétic Terrassa and AHTC Wien of Austria.

Beeston v Atletic Terrassa Euro Hockey League (c) Euro Hockey League / Frank Uijlenbroek

Pool C sees English champions Beeston (above) pitted against Spain’s RC de Polo de Barcelona and Poland’s KS Pomorzanin Toruń. Torun’s compatriots WKS Grunwald Poznan (POL) will do battle with Ashley Jackson’s East Grinstead (ENG) and Dinamo Elektrostal (RUS) in Pool G, while Dinamo Kazan (RUS) and Olimpia Kolos Sekvoia (UKR) will aim to overcome Teun de Nooijer’s HC Bloemendaal – the 2009 EHL champions – in Pool H.

East Grinstead v RC Polo de Barcelona (c) Euro Hockey League / Frank Uijlenbroek

Pools A, D, E and F will be played at the home ground of KHC Dragons, located in north-east Antwerp in the historic municipality of Brasschaat. Dutch champions Amsterdam H&BC make a return to the competition after a one-season absence in Pool A, where they will be in competition with 2011 EHL Bronze medallists Reading (ENG) and debutants Cookstown (IRL).

Pool D features three very strong sides, with newly crowned champions of Germany Der Club an der Alster facing 2011 EHL finalists Club de Campo de Madrid (ESP) and Racing Club Bruxelles (BEL). Host club and Belgian champions KHC Dragons compete in Pool E, where their many fans will aim to cheer them on to success against H.C. Rotterdam (NED) and HC Rotweiss Wettingen (SUI), while double EHL champions UHC Hamburg (GER) take on Banbridge HC and CA Montrouge, the champions of Ireland and France respectively.

Round: 1.1
Date: 7-9 October 2011
Venue: HTC Uhlenhorst, Mülheim (GER)

Pool B Pool C  Pool G Pool H
Atletic Terrassa (ESP) Beeston (ENG) WKS Grunwald Poznan (POL) Dinamo Kazan (RUS)
HTC Uhlenhorst Mulheim (GER) RC de Polo de Barcelona (ESP) East Grinstead (ENG) HC Bloemendaal (NED)
AHTC Wien (AUT) Pomorzanin Torun (POL) Dinamo Elektrostal (RUS) Olympia Kolos Sekvoia (UKR)

Round: 1.2
Date: 21-23 October 2011
Venue: KHC Dragons, Antwerp (BEL)

Pool A Pool D Pool E Pool F
Amsterdam H&BC (NED) Der Club an der Alster (GER) KHC Dragons (BEL) Banbridge (IRL)
Reading (ENG) Club de Campo de Madrird (ESP HC Rotterdam (NED) UHC Hamburg (GER)
Cookstown (IRL) RC Bruxelles (BEL) HC Rotweiss Wettingen (SUI) CA Montrouge (FRA)

More information about the Round 1 events such as ticketing details will be revealed in the coming weeks on

Source: Euro Hockey League

Images courtesy of Euro Hockey League / Frank Uijlenbroek